Six rock up for place in hall of fame


Six rock up for place in hall of fame

Longtime Canadian SONOR Artist Bruce Aitken to be inducted into Rock'n Roll Hall of Fame Sthld NZ!

By CHRIS CHILTON - The Southland Times | Friday, 30 May 2008

The boys will be back in town in September when the Southland Musicians Club Rock and Roll Hall of Fame salutes six more rock 'n' roll heroes.

This year's induction, at an annual show that is always sold out weeks in advance, will include a trio of former Southland rock 'n' rollers who went on to forge a name for themselves on the international stage.

Bass player Roger McLachlan was an original member of chart-topping Aussies the Little River Band, drummer Bruce Aitken was named Music Nova Scotia Canada Musician of the Year in 2004 and keyboards player Neil Sutherland is an Australian award-winning composer of film and television scores.

They, along with fellow inductees drummer Bruce Whitelaw and singer-guitarist David Kennedy, all got their start as spotty rockers playing in Southland bands in the 1960s or 1970s, a halcyon period in the province's colourful musical history.

The Hall of Fame show will feature surviving lineups of the inductees' original Southland bands: State of Mind (Whitelaw), Three Plus One (Kennedy), Tarbet (Sutherland) and Roger's Dodgers with Jackie Cooper (McLachlan and Aitken).

With such a stellar lineup of musos, hard-case characters and hangmen featuring on the bill there's no reason to expect anything less than yet another sellout show at the Invercargill Workingmen's Club on September 27.

Tickets will go on sale in July.

Stay tuned, all you born-again rock 'n' rollers